TSRI Alcohol Research Center
Virtual Internship Program

Spring 2021 Syllabus

Wednesday, May 26, 1:00-2:00PM
Dr. Amanda Roberts – Introduction to the virtual internship experience + use of laboratory animals in biomedical research

Friday, May 28, 12:00-1:00PM
Dr. Amanda Roberts – Overview of the Alcohol Research Center

Monday, May 31
Memorial Day holiday

Wednesday, June 2, 1:00-2:00PM
Dr. Francisco Flores Ramirez – Introduction to neuroscience

Thursday, June 3, 1:00-2:00PM
Dr. Alicia Avelar – Introduction to electrophysiology (Ephys)

Friday, June 4, 1:00-2:00PM
Dr. Alicia Avelar – Brain slicing techniques for Ephys

Monday, June 7, 1:00-2:00PM
Dr. Alicia Avelar – Working with Ephys data

Wednesday, June 9, 12:00-1:00PM
Dr. Briana Martinez – Proteomics in alcohol research

Friday, June 11, 12:00-1:00PM
Dr. Briana Martinez – Differential abundance analysis

Monday, June 14, 12:00-1:00PM
Dr. Briana Martinez – Navigating protein databases

Wednesday, June 16, 12:00-1:00PM
Dr. Sarah Wolfe – How to visualize proteins in tissue using immunostaining

Friday, June 18, 12:00-1:00PM
Dr. Valentina Vozella – How to study behavior in animal models

Please contact Dr. Amanda Roberts at aroberts@scripps.edu if you are interested in 
getting involved in our next virtual internship series.